January 22, 2014

  • Pictures and Thoughts

    Are you as tired of gray Winter days as I am? If you aren't, you don't live in Denmark! We have had very little snow, but lots and lots of rain and fog. I miss colors and sunshine! When I feel like that, my husband takes me to Plantorama! I bring my camera and enjoy just walking around in the greenhouse taking photos. I love to soak up the glorious riot of colors and remind myself that Spring will come.

    Plantorama 25

    (Psalm 104:19 NLT) You made the moon to mark the seasons, and the sun knows when to set.

    Plantorama 2014   5

    (Psalm 3:3-4 NLT) But you, O LORD, are a shield around me; You are my glory, the One who holds my head high. I cried out to the LORD, and He answered me from His holy mountain.

    Plantorama 2014   12

    (Psalm 16:7-8) I will bless the LORD who guides me; even at night my heart instructs me. I know the LORD is always with me. I will not be shaken, for He is right beside me.

    Plantorama 2014   18

    (Luke 12:28 NLT) And if God cares so wonderfully for flowers that are here today and thrown into the fire tomorrow, He will certainly care for you. Why do you have so little faith?

    Plantorama 2014   20

    Plantorama 2014   23

    (Psalm 18:2-3 NLT) The LORD is my rock, my fortress, and my savior; my God is my rock, in whom I find protection. He is my shield, the power that saves me, and my place of safety. I called on the LORD, who is worthy of praise, and He saved me from my enemies.

    Plantorama 2014   24

    (Song of Solomon 2:12 NLT) The flowers are springing up, the season of singing birds has come, and the cooing of turtledoves fills the air.

    Plantorama 2014   33

    (Psalm 13:5-6 NLT) But I trust in Your unfailing love. I will rejoice because You have rescued me. I will sing to the LORD because He is good to me.

    Plantorama 2014   38

    Plantorama 2014  2

    (Psalm 68:19 KJV) Blessed be the Lord, who daily loadeth us with benefits, even the God of our salvation. Selah.

    I like this verse best from the King James. I do feel that God "loads my life" with so many blessings! I will never stop claiming His wonderful faithfulness! He is a God who can be trusted. He is a God who keeps His word. He knows how to care for what belongs to Him ---- and I do!

    Winter does give me more time to work on projects. Lately I have been making wreaths using old books. I like the way they look. I especially like to use old books, because the pages are yellowed, and I like that.

    My crafts book wreath roses 2

    My crafts book wreath roses

    This wreath was made from rolling the pages. Thank you, Pinterest for good ideas!

    My crafts rolled pages wreath

    I made this button wreath several years ago. It took me a long time to collect the buttons! I hang it on my front door during the Christmas season. Sorry the picture is not so great. My camera does much better in natural light.

    My crafts

    I like "re-purposing" things. I look for things in second hand shops that I can breathe new life into. I am currently working on an afghan which will me made of yarn leftovers and the bits and bobs of yarn I pick up from second hand shops. I am thankful that God "re-purposed" my life! I am so glad that He saw something in me He could make good and useful.

    My decore 2

    Hubby rescued this oak bench from a second hand shop. It was broken and dull. He fixed it up and I just love it! I have loaded it with some of my plants and second hand shop odds and ends. I like the look. Do you? I know... it is a bit blurry. Can I blame the camera? :-)

    My signs  4

    My signs  6

    I love this sign my daughter gave me. It makes me cry and smile at the same time! I also like this sign that says STAY POSITIVE. Good advice, for sure! It is in the bathroom where our washing machine is located.

    My signs

    So --- whatever you are doing during these cold Winter days, remember that Spring is coming. Stay positive. Remember you are cherished by the King. Let Him make something beautiful of your life!

    Blessings!

Comments (9)

  • We have lots of snow - and it's below zero - so this is beautiful to my eyes.

    Blessings on your day.

  • A good reminder as we brace for the coldest weather yet - and more snow and grey skies. God does love us and Spring will come.

  • It's so good to see flowers in the middle of winter, and be reminded of God's love. Thanks.

  • sometimes we need a splash of color instead of just gray.

  • Loved the photos, verses, and narrative

    I still have to trust him. My body is 80 years old and getting angry. lol

    I am smelling finish line.

    frank

  • Beautiful pictures of Lovely colors in beautiful flowers.
    Very creative wreaths. I like the floral one best, and yes, I do like your bench :)

  • I love the look of your little bench display... especially the little lamps and the picnic hamper underneath. :-) You have given me ideas.

  • Oh Mae, This was such a much needed read and "look-at" for me. It is freezing cold, snowy, and gray/white here in Ohio! Those beautiful, colorful flowers and the refreshing verses were just what the Doctor ordered! :-)
    I love your creativity, too! Those wreaths are so cool! I'll have to check out some things on Pinterest, too.
    I too am glad that God sees something in me that He can use.

  • Hello Mae .. oh my, these flowers are so beautiful and I love the scriptures! I would really enjoy a walk through a 'Plantorama'! It's been so gray here and depression seems to have settled in right along with it ... your post is encouraging ... His Word never fails to brighten my day! I find myself wanting to linger a lot longer in my devotions so often these days ... sometimes I can't bring myself to walk away from reading His Word, unfortunately, chores do need to get done!

    I like all your sweet projects, too ... Pinterest is a great source for ideas! And yes, that bench is so cute with all your plants and decorative touches you've added! Your husband was very thoughtful for rescuing it for you! :)

    I also like what you said about staying positive during these wintry, gray days ... focusing on Him does help, but with other things that have been going on here in our family, it's sometimes hard to do, but with a faithful, loving, God, ALL things are possible!

    Well, it's been too long since I've been here to read and visit with you, Mae. I had sent you a short message on FB about a week ago. Hope you'll forgive me for not being in touch sooner. I've started writing to you so many times but never seem to finish ... remember, I'm the 'wordy' one .. I always have far too much to say when I start writing to you, but I always enjoyed the messages you sent back to me over on the old Xanga. Wish they had that feature here now .. I do miss those days and your messages! Hope the sun shines for you there soon, and I hope to hear from you soon, too! Blessings to you, dear Mae!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *