January 28, 2014

  • Impatient Words

    Impatient-Bird

    Lately I have been working on a song which shares a bit about my struggles. I am so often humbled by how forgiving my God is! I hate it when I make the same mistakes over and over again. I want to be so "tuned in" and sure of the Holy Spirit's voice that my words are always right, timely and true. I know words are powerful. I guess know I can be really impatient! I am working on it -- which is why I am so grateful for the patience and forgiveness of my wonderful Lord!

    In the past, I have ruined so many things by being impatient. I know I have also hurt the feelings of others. So, I am often asking God to be Lord of my MOUTH! I do not want to be negative, and I do not want to impulsively just blab without thinking. Lord, teach me to be wise, too, please! My mom used to have a sign over the phone that said something like, "MAKE SURE BRAIN IS ENGAGED BEFORE OPENING MOUTH." Yeah... good advice!

    Anyway... here is the song. As yet, it has no title. Any ideas?

    I don't want to speak
    When I should be still.
    You know I like to talk,
    And I will

    Lord, You know what is best,
    So put me to the test.
    I don't want to talk when I should be still.

    I don't want to run
    Ahead of you.
    They say I am impatient,
    And it's true.

    But my life is in Your hands,
    And I trust Your Master Plan,
    So, I don't want to run ahead of You.

    And I will not be still
    When I should speak
    Sometimes I do get scared,
    And I am weak

    But Your message is so true,
    There is lots for me to do,
    So, I will not be still when I should speak.

    Blessings on your week, folks!

Comments (11)

  • Good words, (and convicting.) Please sing it for us sometime.

  • Heureusement Jésus nous, une fois pour toutes les fois sauvé, parce que nous sommes des pécheurs répétitives.
    oui la langue est la meilleure et la pire des choses.
    Love
    Michel

  • Fortunately Jesus saved us , once for all times because we are repetitive sinners.
    Yes the tongue can be the best and the worst of the things .
    Lovze
    Michel

  • it's always a good idea to think before you speak but we are all human beings and will make mistakes so let the other guy off the hook and maybe they will be more forgiving with your mistakes.
    Like God taught us to pray,"forgive us our trespasses as we forgive others."

  • une fois pour toutes les fois sauvé would be a great title!!!! The egg picture was perfect for this post!

  • Very nice lyrics - has an easy rhythm. I bet the tune is as catchy as the words! Please consider doing a recording... (I bet it would be a hit!)

  • Hi Pastor, Mae. God does not recommend free speech, but both limited and controlled speech. lol

    I sure understand what you are saying about engaging the brain before the speaking.

    Wishing you a very nice day.

    frank

  • Such a good word, Mae! I deal with impatience, especially when things are going wrong and I feel the need to jump in and fix it! I've 'opened mouth and inserted foot' many a time, and ended up hurting others. God is working in me to be calm and to trust Him ... the bottom line is that we listen for that 'still small voice', and trust Him in ALL things! Your song is beautiful, Mae ... I would love to hear it put to music! Blessings to you, my friend!

    P.S. and a good title for it might be, 'To Speak ... Or Not'. :)

  • I love this, Mae, and I'm sure that you will come up with the perfect title . . . and I know that you will come up with the perfect tune (just as you always have), & yes, you should sing it for your fans & friends (one &
    the same)!
    Here are a few that I thought of just now, but like I said, I am sure that you will know when the Holy Spirit brings the right one to you that you think of for yourself.

    1. VII:XIX (I just read Rom. 7:19 in my devotions today!)
    2. To Speak or Not
    3. Conversation with God
    4. Heart2Heart

  • I like the saying about engaging our brains before opening our mouths ~ :)

  • The illustration got me to read. I LOVE it. That's about how I feel right now. The lyrics are also express how I'm feeling. Thank you so much for sharing. Blessings.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *