April 22, 2014

  • Who Am I?

    Reaching higher, pressing in
    Longing to know You better
    Nothing matters more
    Than pleasing You, serving you
    I am a child of God

    Weeping when you weep
    Rejoicing when you rejoice
    Praying, encouraging, loving
    Seeing you serve Him is my joy
    I am a pastor

    Noticing the white hair
    Less energy, more lines
    Reaching to remember
    A few more aches and pains
    I am growing older

    Feeling so blessed
    When I hear my mom's voice
    So glad she is still here
    So thankful for her love
    I am a daughter

    I know this man so well
    Pledged to love him forever
    He is my "other half"
    He is my friend, my love
    I am a wife

    Savoring our times together
    Snickering over past adventures
    Bound to them by memories
    Love and genetics
    I am a sister

    So proud, such fierce love
    My shining accomplishments
    They give me such joy
    Love who they are
    I am a mom

    Sons of my heart
    Prayed for you for so long
    God sent my girls good men
    Glad you are family, too
    I am a mother in law

    Many pictures on my phone
    Ready with the latest story
    Heart so full of love
    For my darling blessings
    I am a grandma

    Delighting in times shared
    For laughter, tears and tea
    You "get me," know me so well
    Silly together, sister of my heart
    I am a friend

    Who are you?

Comments (10)

  • I like it. Well written.

  • I am you except for the Pastor part, we have been blessed with a wonderful pastor though!

  • well that covers it all.

    I can't add anything.

    I am still learning about myself everyday and when I journal to myself or God I wonder sometimes if I'm nuts. LOL

  • This was lovely to read.

  • A very nice poem! We are different things at different times and to different people! Still the only thing that matters is how God sees me!

  • I loved this reflective poem. I like thinking about my life and the kind of little boy God created and how I used what He gave me--some not so good, but thankfully there was some good. Finding the Lord at age 30 was a good start on the journey of life.

  • Hi Mae, so nice to have a visit from you. :-) Sorry I don't visit more often.

    ryc: Murisopsis posted a poetry challenge for the month with prompts;
    http://murisopsis.xanga.com/2014/03/31/looking-at-the-scavenger-hunt-2/

    I think April is poetry awareness month or something? Anyway, it's what we've been partaking in. :-)
    I had seen you wrote this poem of your own, and thought I might try to do one on your theme of Who am I. I've tried thinking of this before. Who am I is hard to put into words. You did this so beautifully.
    God's blessings to you,
    Lynn

  • I AM
    You wrote the perfect poem.
    And your musical guess was spot on!
    I hope all is well with you. Things have been very busy with me. I purchased a small building across from Seabreeze to convert into an art gallery/studio/class room. It is truly a huge undertaking, but one I feel very good about. I give thanks to God everyday for providing me with such an opportunity.

  • That's a smart way of thninkig about it.

    • I was sitting in church thinking about this when I tarted writing it! Once I started, it was fun.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment