November 21, 2013

  • Rooted

    rooted
    Here are a couple of verses that thrill our hearts! We love hearing about God's love. It is wonderful, isn't it?

    (Eph 3:17-18 NLT) Then Christ will make His home in your hearts as you trust in Him. Your roots will grow down into God's love and keep you strong. And may you have the power to understand, as all God's people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep His love is.

    What many of us do not seem to understand is that knowing, really knowing the richness of Christ's love comes with a price. How do we get those deep roots that hold us steady and keep us strong in the Lord? In my humble experience, I would say this joy only comes through adversity. Suffering, even. To really know the depths of His love, it must be put to the test. When you find yourself in that place where His love is the only thing holding you, your roots are DEEP!

    But, most of us run screaming from any test or trial that comes into our life. Our prayers are all about getting us OUT instead of strengthening us to see it THROUGH. Often, when we face some unavoidable hardship, rather than clinging to God and trusting Him to see us through, we get bitter. We blame Him. We turn away from our strength and comfort. Why do we do this? Why do we prefer the shallow life?

    Now, I am not saying we should open our arms to welcome every awful thing that comes along. No. We need to know the source of our trials. If they come from the evil one, we have authority in the name of Jesus to send them away. But there are things God allows to help us learn and grow. We need to understand that these things will ultimately be for our good.

    While "seasoning" and "refining" are words we don't mind using if we are talking about WOOD, we would rather not apply these to our own lives. So, we live avoiding God's "gym" as much as possible. We wiggle out of every opportunity He sends along to stretch and strengthen us.

    We want all the "freebies" -- all the good stuff God promises His children. We want the protection and the blessings and the prosperity. But, sadly, we do not want those deep roots.

    "One who gains strength by overcoming obstacles possesses the only strength which can overcome adversity." ~~ Albert Schweitzer

    Here in Denmark several years ago we had some mighty strong winds pass through. We lost a lot of trees. Do you know the kind we lost? We lost the ones with shallow roots. They could not stand against the wind.

    As a pastor, I have watched people who turned away from God. The winds came, and they could not stand. We all know the song about how the wise man built his house on the rock, right? It's kind of the same thing. Deep roots and a strong foundation are the best chance we have to survive the hardships and adversities of life.

    Charles Spurgeon said," If we cannot believe God when circumstances seem to be against us, we do not believe Him at all."

    Dear one, I trust you have made it a priority to grow those deep roots!

Comments (13)

  • A good reminder today! I have always thought that being "the suffering servant" was a good way to develop solidarity in Christ's suffering but sometimes for get the other benefits!

  • I was just thinking of you yesterday and wondering how you were.
    I'm going to go back and read your blog now.

  • once I was saying why isn't God helping me and a friend said,"you need to get a bigger God." I knew what they meant. I wasn't there but God was.

  • God has sent me adversity and free trips to Hawaii. He sends both. I learn a lot more through the adversity than free trips.

  • Great quotes and teaching.
    This makes me think of what jesus said at the garden of gethsemani:"Father, if you are willing, please take this cup of suffering away from me. Yet I want your will to be done, not mine.” (in Luke ) Jesus in this request showed his trust in God ,his father . But He had to go through death to know the eternal glory and he shows to us the way.
    Love
    Michel

  • For some reason your comment doesn't link back to your blog here. I guess I found you anyways. Makes it a little more difficult to find you.

    Yes, we do need good roots so we can grow strong!

  • I truely believe God has been there for me on many occassion to help me with hardships. They say He will not give you more than you can handle, and I trust he knows my limits better than I do myself. I have grown from past incidences which have only strengthened rather than weakened my connection to God.

  • thank you I needed this

  • if not for my roots I would have blown down long ago...

  • Excellent words of truth, Mae; excellent comments, too!
    I agree with Frank; I tend to learn more and to grow deeper roots in those tough times.
    Thanks for sharing!

  • This brings to my mind the parable of the mustard seed. If not for the good soil of my parents, my roots would never have grown as strong as they have.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *