November 12, 2013

  • My Favorite "F" Word

    LetterFIf you listen to the media, or many folks today, you know what THEIR F word is. Well, that isn't mine. Are you relieved? :-)

    My favorite F word of all time is FREEDOM! Oh! I am so thankful for it! Not only the freedom I have because I am an American, but the freedom that I have in Christ.

    (Isa.44:22 NLT) I have swept away your sins like a cloud. I have scattered your offenses like the morning mist. Oh, return to Me, for I have paid the price to set you free.

    In my younger years, I was a confused, scared young lady who did not feel like she had any value. I was so unsure of myself! I worried a lot. I did not like myself at all.

    But one day, I came to Christ and laid all that hot mess down. He freed me! Oh, it didn't happen immediately in some areas, but it started to get a lot better.

    (John 8:36 NLT) So if the Son sets you free, you are truly free.

    Maybe you never hated yourself or felt weighed down by life and your problems. Maybe you never doubted every decision you made and felt worthless. I did. You can imagine how wonderful it felt when those chains fell off!

    Sometimes, when I go up to take communion, I am reminded of a scene from Braveheart. I just want to stand there and yell, "FREEDOM!!!!" as loud as I can. I haven't done it, and probably never will, because I think it would scare people! :-) But, I feel it. I am thankful for it. Freedom.

    This is what Jesus did for me. He said, (Luke 4:18 NLT) "The Spirit of the LORD is upon Me, for He has anointed Me to bring Good News to the poor. He has sent Me to proclaim that captives will be released, that the blind will see, that the oppressed will be set free...

    There are so many people --even Christians -- who have swallowed the lies that the enemy whispers in their ears. "You are no good. You can't do anything right. Something bad is going to happen to you/your family/your job/your health ..." and on and on and on. Lies. Torment. Intimidation. Oh, the devil loves it when we fall for his garbage.

    (2Cor.3:17 NLT) For the Lord is the Spirit, and wherever the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom.

    Part of being free is knowing what GOD says about you. Part of being free is knowing WHO WE ARE IN CHRIST. Part of being free is TRUSTING HIM! If He says He will never leave you, He won't. If He says, not to be afraid, there is nothing to fear. If He promises to meet your every need, He will do it. If He says you can do it, you can! God cannot lie. He will not lie, and He loves you with perfect, powerful love. Christ bought your freedom with His own blood. Don't insult Him by living like you don't believe it.

    Yes. My favorite F word ---- FREEDOM!

Comments (12)

  • I like your favorite F word.

  • Freedom is a much better F word than that other one that is offensive.

  • we went to a hamburger and sports bar and they had a sign with a bomb-black ball with a lighted fuse and I had to ask my grown son what it meant? No F Bombs? LOL he said,"mom, think about it."
    I'm going to go back and read your blog now. I thought Faith as soon as I saw that was your favorite F word. LOL but I know you.

  • Yes, the Freedom we have in Christ is amazing.

  • I thought faith first too, they are kinda the same...

  • My favorite F word is Floccinaucinihilipilification.

    • And what, pray tell does THAT mean? :-) (I am too lazy to google it.)

  • I had to check to see if Aloysius_son had made up that word... apparently not!
    "Freedom" = yes, that is exactly what we have in Christ! Thanks for sharing a good devotional message today, Mae.<3

  • FREEDOM is a good word for sure one of my favorite for sure

  • That's one of my favorite words too. I hope you had some sweet things in your day, yesterday and today too, of course. :-)

  • Freedom! We often forget that not all have that blessing. And we are slowly giving it away in favor of "security" and "benefits." But there is no security in bondage and no benefit can cancel out the loss we suffer if we treat our freedom as though it didn't matter.

  • F is also Faith.
    Love
    Michel

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *