December 23, 2013

  • Just Things

    TIP-028JDE00864 - © - Joe Devenney
    There's a commercial I have seen where a man is in his car smiling happily. On the seat next to him is his brand new computer! He has his hand on the box in a proud way, and is whistling a happy tune. He stops at a light, and glances up at a billboard showing that the model newer than the one he just bought is now being sold. His proud, happy face is gone so quickly.

    The bottom line is that THINGS do not bring lasting happiness. Sure, for a time, we enjoy them. But, there is always something more to be had. Something bigger. Faster! More IN! Things usually leave us wanting more things.

    Don't get me wrong! I am very grateful for the things I have. I am thankful we don't have to take the bus anymore. I am thankful for my computer and for SKYPE. I am thankful I am warm, clean and fed. But, years ago, through my choice and necessity, I stepped away from the "wanting things" game. I honestly have everything I need, and a lot more. When we became missionaries, the steady paychecks went away. A lot of things went away. But God became more dear to me than ever. Oh, I admit it is hard sometimes not to have a steady income. I wish I could do more for my kids. I wish I could help other people financially. But God is showing me that having enough is... ENOUGH. I am grateful for the nice surprises and the blessings He sends our way. I am glad when another month goes by and all the bills are paid. And I am content. Things were never meant to be our source of joy. Jesus wants to be that to us.

    Do we have the warped idea that our value is based on the material things we have? No. What gives us worth is that God made us and loves us. We are His beloved children.

    Do we try to buy the love and approval of others with the gifts we give? Will my grandchildren love me less if I can't buy them big, fancy presents? I don't think so. Hey... even the Beatles knew "money can't buy me love." :-)

    A friend once shared about wanting a certain bedspread she had seen in the Penny's catalog. It almost became an obsession! Oh! It was just what she needed to make the bedroom perfect! She finally managed to talk her husband into letting her buy it. Oh the joy! She put it on the bed and spread it out. It was perfect. It looked great. Then, she looked at the windows and remembered that the catalog showed matching drapes! Yeah..... Things. There is always something more to want.

    God's people have to learn to live a life of balance. It's not that God wants to deprive us of things we need. He just wants to be first in our lives. He is worthy of that. Because when the computer is obsolete.... when the bedspread is worn out and faded, God will still be there.

    (Mat. 6:31-33 MSG) What I'm trying to do here is to get you to relax, to not be so preoccupied with getting, so you can respond to God's giving. People who don't know God and the way He works fuss over these things, but you know both God and how He works. Steep your life in God-reality, God-initiative, God-provisions. Don't worry about missing out. You'll find all your everyday human concerns will be met.

    So dear friends, whatever you unwrap for Christmas remember that if you have Christ, you already have everything! If you don't get everything (or anything!) you asked for, don't sweat it. They are just things. Rejoice in your Savior! Count the blessings you already have in your life. And, have a wonderful and blessed Christmas!

Comments (8)

  • Yes, you are right. The most important things can't be bought with money. Have a wonderful week!

  • Warren Buffet said," if I new house would make me feel better I would get it."
    If a new car would make me happy I would get it."
    He lives in the same house and has an old car.
    I love it. He understands

  • This is a great reminder of the real Christmas message - that God so loved the world that he gave his only son... Jesus is the gift and the reason! I work with someone who is all about getting ahead and having more. It is so sad because they are never satisfied...

  • Good Morning, Pastor--Agree one hundred percent, but I want my new improved Mini-I-Pad to be really happy. lol I am 80 and still fight the material desires in my old, dying body.

    I managed the finances for the first 10 years of our marriage and almost went bankrupt. I gave the finances to my wife to handle, ands we were debt free in four years.

    blessings

    frank

  • Merry Christmas!

  • Amen and Merry Christmas.

  • True wealth is having everything you need and not wanting.

    Keep in mind too that Paul McCartney penned those words, only to go on to become the wealthiest singer songwriter in history. Ironic, isn't it?

    Funny thing is over the past few years all I ever really want from friends and family is to be acknowledged with kindness and love and to be able to return that gift tenfold. The physical gifts seem to mean less and less to me than the thought of gift giving, if that makes any sense. Lately I have been giving gift certificates that read "Your gift is dinner at our home" or "A free art lesson". I would rather spend time with a friend than just hand them some little token. It isn't even about the cost. The meal or the art supplies can be just as expensive as any gift I could afford. Does this make sense?
    I think Christ would also rather that we share in his life and the lives of others than to make meaningless gestures.
    I have more things than I need anyway, except I do need some new long underwear. Mine is too holey and not Holy enough.

  • I hope you had a good Christmas and I wish you a happy year 2014,
    love
    Michel

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *