Month: December 2013

  • Just Things

    TIP-028JDE00864 - © - Joe Devenney
    There's a commercial I have seen where a man is in his car smiling happily. On the seat next to him is his brand new computer! He has his hand on the box in a proud way, and is whistling a happy tune. He stops at a light, and glances up at a billboard showing that the model newer than the one he just bought is now being sold. His proud, happy face is gone so quickly.

    The bottom line is that THINGS do not bring lasting happiness. Sure, for a time, we enjoy them. But, there is always something more to be had. Something bigger. Faster! More IN! Things usually leave us wanting more things.

    Don't get me wrong! I am very grateful for the things I have. I am thankful we don't have to take the bus anymore. I am thankful for my computer and for SKYPE. I am thankful I am warm, clean and fed. But, years ago, through my choice and necessity, I stepped away from the "wanting things" game. I honestly have everything I need, and a lot more. When we became missionaries, the steady paychecks went away. A lot of things went away. But God became more dear to me than ever. Oh, I admit it is hard sometimes not to have a steady income. I wish I could do more for my kids. I wish I could help other people financially. But God is showing me that having enough is... ENOUGH. I am grateful for the nice surprises and the blessings He sends our way. I am glad when another month goes by and all the bills are paid. And I am content. Things were never meant to be our source of joy. Jesus wants to be that to us.

    Do we have the warped idea that our value is based on the material things we have? No. What gives us worth is that God made us and loves us. We are His beloved children.

    Do we try to buy the love and approval of others with the gifts we give? Will my grandchildren love me less if I can't buy them big, fancy presents? I don't think so. Hey... even the Beatles knew "money can't buy me love." :-)

    A friend once shared about wanting a certain bedspread she had seen in the Penny's catalog. It almost became an obsession! Oh! It was just what she needed to make the bedroom perfect! She finally managed to talk her husband into letting her buy it. Oh the joy! She put it on the bed and spread it out. It was perfect. It looked great. Then, she looked at the windows and remembered that the catalog showed matching drapes! Yeah..... Things. There is always something more to want.

    God's people have to learn to live a life of balance. It's not that God wants to deprive us of things we need. He just wants to be first in our lives. He is worthy of that. Because when the computer is obsolete.... when the bedspread is worn out and faded, God will still be there.

    (Mat. 6:31-33 MSG) What I'm trying to do here is to get you to relax, to not be so preoccupied with getting, so you can respond to God's giving. People who don't know God and the way He works fuss over these things, but you know both God and how He works. Steep your life in God-reality, God-initiative, God-provisions. Don't worry about missing out. You'll find all your everyday human concerns will be met.

    So dear friends, whatever you unwrap for Christmas remember that if you have Christ, you already have everything! If you don't get everything (or anything!) you asked for, don't sweat it. They are just things. Rejoice in your Savior! Count the blessings you already have in your life. And, have a wonderful and blessed Christmas!

  • A Savior!

    Dear friends, I haul this post out and put it up again almost every year, because we usually need the reminder! I know I do! God already made your Christmas perfect with His wonderful gift. SO, stop stressing and just enjoy it! Blessings and love you to! Mae // the Danish Doll
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    You spent HOURS making an adorable, little lamb costume for your four year old to wear in the church play. On the way to the church, he barfed all over it. It’s OK. What matters about this season is not perfection. What matters is the Savior.

    You went to eight different hardware stores before you found one that had the wrench set for your father-in-law, and now your husband informs you it’s the wrong one. It doesn’t matter. You still have a Savior.

    You feel embarrassed because you were so exhausted you bought the potato salad for the office party at the deli instead of making your own. Who really cares? You still have a Savior.

    Your neighbor just dropped off a gift, and you didn’t buy them anything! Try to just let it go. You still have a Savior.

    You never did get that last batch of cut out cookies iced. It’s OK. They taste fine without icing. You still have a Savior.

    You just received a Christmas card from Bill and Dorothy, and you have no idea who they are! It doesn’t matter. You still have a Savior.

    The cat just climbed to the top of the tree and managed to break that special ornament you and your husband bought on your honeymoon trip to France fifteen years ago. It’s a shame it’s gone, but you still have a Savior.

    That nice new couple from church will be here in ten minutes for coffee and cake, and you just dropped the cake upside down on the floor. Oh well. They can eat those un-iced cookies instead! The important thing is, you still have a Savior.

    The gift you ordered for your boss has not arrived, and today is the last day you can give it to him before the holiday break. You can still rejoice. You have a Savior.

    There are plenty of things going on during the holidays that can bring stress and frustration. We need to remember that all the fuss and flurry of the season have little to do with what it is really about.

    THERE IS A SAVIOR!

  • Thanksgiving Trip to N. Ireland

    Hello, Folks!

    Sorry I have not been on here for some time. We had a great time with the kids in N. Ireland, and since I have been back, life has been very busy!

    We got up at 3 AM to be at the airport for a 6 AM flight. However, the plane had problems with the navigation system, and we had to get OFF and wait for many hours until a new part was flown in from Frankfurt. It made a long day MUCH longer, but we got to know some nice people while we waited! Of course in Germany we missed our connecting flight and had to wait some more! But look what I got to see! I have never seen a sunset ABOVE the clouds before! Incredible!

    Visit Thanksgiving 2013 Plane window 2

    Two little girls who have my heart.

    Visit Thanksgiving 2013 the girls BEST

    It was wonderful to be with my sweet little granddaughters again! They are so precious, and so much fun. I love the way they love each other. If Sianna is crying about something, baby Aliza cries, too, just because she is upset when Sianna is upset. I guess that is biblical! :-) Isn't there a scripture that says "weep with those who weep?"

    We worked hard and made a delicious Thanksgiving meal for the family. Turkey with stuffing, glazed carrots, corn, sweet potatoes, mashed potatoes with gravy and for dessert, pumpkin pie, cherry cobbler and apple crisp. It was fun to work with my daughter, Abby and we all enjoyed eating the good food.

    Then the next day we took down the Thanksgiving decorations and put up the Christmas stuff so we could have a mini Christmas together! Cramming TWO holidays into ONE week was a LOT!

    Visit Thanksgiving 2013 Aliza with doll

    Aliza liked the rag doll I made for her. She was patting it and talking to it in her sweet one year old chatter.

    We wrote a story for Sianna, and put it on the ipad so she could look at it whenever she would like. We used lots of pictures of her to illustrate.

    Visit Thanksgiving 2013 Sianna and Grandpa

    This pic is dark, because the light is behind them, but Grandpa is reading the story to Sianna. I love the way she says GRANDPA! So sweet!

    Sianna wanted me to take a picture of EVERY ornament on the tree!

    Visit Thanksgiving 2013 tree and Sianna

    She got the camera and took some interesting pictures of Grandma! Those are her wee fingers on the lens! She is almost three years old now, and is sure she can do ANYTHING!

    Visit Thanksgiving 2013 Sianna has the camera

    We got a chance to go to into Belfast and see some sights. The kids gave me some birthday money and I bought two sweaters! What a lovely treat! We also went to the new Titanic museum. It is an incredible building, and the tour is so interesting. The Titanic was built in the shipyards of N. Ireland.

    Visit Thanksgiving 2013 Titanic 12

    On Friday we were so privileged to be a part of a youth evening in Belfast. We were interviewed about the work we do in Denmark. We had the honor of praying with many young people who feel the call of God to missions. It was so exciting to see over 500 young folks who love God and are crying out for the nations of the world. Worship was led by our daughter, and it was loud and fervent. We loved it!

    It is always so hard for me to say good bye. It will probably be months and months before I see them all again. Wouldn't you have trouble saying good bye to this sweet face?

    Visit Thanksgiving 2013 Sianna NICE

    I thank God that we were able to go. It has been years since we celebrated Thanksgiving with family. I am rich in lovely memories, and so blessed to have been able to be there.

    Thanks for sharing my trip with me!